November 28 postgame notes

-With the win, the Kings improved to 85-82-32 all-time against the Red Wings, a record that includes a 36-47-17 road mark. The last time Los Angeles won consecutive games in Detroit was when they won three consecutive games at Joe Louis Arena on January 23, 2010, December 13, 2010 and March 9, 2011. The Kings did not win any games between the previous three-game winning streak and the current two-game streak, going 0-5-1. These teams will conclude their season series on March 15 at Staples Center.

-With the win, Los Angeles improved to 11-3-0 against the Eastern Conference, 8-3-0 against the Atlantic Division, 5-1 in games decided by three or more goals, 7-6-3 when their opponent scores the first goal, 5-5-3 when trailing at the end of the first period, 7-1-0 when leading after the second period, 8-3-2 when outshooting their opponents and 12-0-2 when scoring three or more goals.

-The Kings won back-to-back games for the first time since winning three straight at Ottawa, Montreal and Boston on October 24, 26 and 28.

-With two third period goals, Los Angeles has now outscored opponents 30-12 in third periods this season. By allowing Mike Green’s goal, they’ve been outscored 27-18 in first periods this season.

-With an assist on Anze Kopitar’s first goal, Rochester Hills native Alec Martinez, the lone Michigander on the roster, has points in four straight games at Detroit. He has six points (2-4=6) in 10 career NHL games at Detroit.

-With his 11th and 12th goals of the season, Anze Kopitar equaled his goal total from 2016-17. He has 12 goals and 33 points in 34 career games against the Red Wings.

-Christian Folin led all skaters with five hits and four blocked shots.

-The Kings attempted 52 shots (36 on goal, 7 blocked, 9 missed). The Red Wings attempted 42 shots (24 on goal, 9 blocked, 9 missed). Oscar Fantenberg and Gustav Nyquist finished tied with a game-high six shots on goal.

-Los Angeles won 24-of-54 faceoffs. Adrian Kempe won 6-of-13, Anze Kopitar won 11-of-21, Nick Shore won 3-of-9, Trevor Lewis won 1-of-1, Dustin Brown won 0-of-1, Nic Dowd won 2-of-3, Jussi Jokinen won 1-of-4 and Tanner Pearson won 0-of-2.

-Lead photo via Dave Reginek/NHLI

Rules for Blog Commenting

  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other comments, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.