Jim Fox to be inducted into the SCSB Hall of Fame

Columbus Blue Jackets vs Los Angeles KingsJim Fox, along with Rob Fukuzaki and the late Joe McDonnell, will be inducted into the Southern California Sports Broadcasters Hall of Fame on January 25, 2016. Fox, who will begin his 26th season as the Kings’ television color commentator this fall, joins 2002 inductee Bob Miller and 2009 inductee Nick Nickson as current Kings broadcasting figures to have been inducted into the SCSB Hall of Fame; former Kings television reporters Stu Nahan and Rich Marotta have also been inducted.

In January, 2015, the SCSB honored Fox with the Best TV Play by Play award for the second consecutive season and fifth time in the last six seasons. At that luncheon, the Kings also won the 2014 Outstanding Acheivement Award, while Bob Miller won best TV Play-by-Play (for the 10th time), Patrick O’Neal won the TV Pre/Post Game award for Kings Live for the second consecutive year, Nick Nickson was nominated for best Radio Talk Show for Kings talk and for best Radio Play by Play, and Daryl Evans was nominated for best Radio Analyst. Nickson will also be honored with the 2015 Foster Hewitt Memorial Award at this November’s Hockey Hall of Fame induction ceremony and will have a plaque of his raised in the Great Hall later this year.

If you’d like to express your appreciation for Fox’s clear and concise analysis of Kings hockey, you’re welcome to join him and his wife Suzie at the fifth annual Sunset Sip, a wine-themed gala benefiting The Guidance Center, a Long Beach-based outreach center that provides comprehensive mental health services for disadvantage children and families in the area.

Southern California Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame Inductees:
Tom Harmon – 1992
Fred Hesler – 1993
Bob Kelley – 1993
Sam Balter – 1994
Bill Brundige – 1995
Jerry Doggett – 1996
Vin Scully – 1997
Jim Healy – 1997
Dick Enberg – 1998
Gil Stratton – 1998
Don Drysdale – 1998
Chick Hearn – 1999
Keith Jackson – 2000
Stu Nahan – 2001
Bob Starr – 2001
Bill Welsh – 2001
Bob Miller – 2002
Mike Walden – 2003
Jaime Jarrin – 2004
Ross Porter – 2005
Tom Kelly – 2005
Ralph Lawler – 2006
Rick Monday – 2008
Nick Nickson – 2009
Jim Hill – 2010
Rich Marotta – 2011
Chris Roberts – 2012
Joe Cala – 2013
Fred Roggin – 2014
Pete Arbogast – 2015
Allin Slate – 2015
Jim Fox – 2016
Rob Fukuzaki – 2016
Joe McDonnell – 2016

Rules for Blog Commenting

  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other comments, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.

Repeated violations of the blog rules will result in site bans, commensurate with the nature and number of offenses.

Please flag any comments that violate the site rules for moderation. For immediate problems regarding problematic posts, please email zdooley@lakings.com.