Doughty voted a First Team All-Star

Even if Anze Kopitar didn’t come away with the Hart Trophy and Drew Doughty missed out on his second career Norris, it was still a pretty good haul for the LA Kings at the NHL Awards as Kopitar claimed his second Selke Trophy and Doughty, revealed upon the conclusion of the presentation, was voted as a postseason First Team NHL All-Star.

Doughty was previously a First-Team All-Star honor in 2016, the same year he won the Norris. He also has two Second Team All-Star nods.

At center, Anze Kopitar finished in third place in postseason All-Star voting, garnering 149 points (11 first place, 17 second place, 43 third place) to Connor McDavid’s 638 (110-26-10) and Nathan MacKinnon’s 419 (27-85-29). Kopitar also interestingly earned a third place vote at left-wing, while Dustin Brown earned a third place vote at right wing and Jonathan Quick earned seven third place votes at goaltender.

More impressions of Doughty – from players such as Victor Hedman, P.K. Subban and Clayton Keller – straight from the NHL Awards’ red carpet can be found here.

The NHL’s All-Rookie team was comprised of Juuse Saros in goal, Will Butcher and Charlie McAvoy on defense and forwards Matthew Barzal, Brock Boeser and Clayton Keller.

Adam Davis/Icon Sportswire

-Lead photo via Juan Ocampo/NHLI

Rules for Blog Commenting

  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other comments, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.