World Cup of Hockey tournament, television schedule - LA Kings Insider

Courtesy of ESPN and, the World Cup of Hockey’s tournament schedule is below and easily accessible. A reminder: ESPN3 (available at is available to those with cable television subscriptions. All times are PT, not local.

Pre-Tournament (exhibition):
September 8, 9:00 a.m.: Sweden vs. Finland, Helsinki, Finland, ESPN3
September 8, 9:30 a.m.: Czech Republic vs. Russia, St. Petersburg, Russia, ESPN3
September 8, 5:00 p.m.: North America vs. Europe, Quebec City, Quebec, ESPN2
September 9, 4 p.m.: Canada vs. USA, Columbus, OH, ESPNU
September 10, 7:30 a.m.: Russia vs. Czech Republic, Prague, Czech Republic, ESPN3
September 10, 9:00 a.m.: Finland vs. Sweden, Gothenburg, Sweden, ESPN3
September 10, 4:00 p.m.: USA vs. Canada, Ottawa, Canada, ESPN3
September 11, 3:00 p.m.: Europe vs. North America, Montreal, Canada, ESPN3
September 13, 4:00 p.m.: Finland vs. USA, Washington, DC, ESPN
September 14, 12:30 p.m.: Czech Republic vs. North America, Pittsburgh, PA, ESPN3
September 14, 4:00 p.m.: Sweden vs. Europe, Washington, DC, ESPN3
September 14, 4:30 p.m.: Russia vs. Canada, Pittsburgh, PA, ESPN2

Group Play (all games at Air Canada Centre, Toronto):
September 17, 12:30 p.m.: USA vs. Europe, ESPN2
September 17, 5:00 p.m.: Czech Republic vs. Canada, ESPNEWS
September 18, 12:00 p.m.: Sweden vs. Russia, ESPN
September 18, 5:00 p.m.: North America vs. Finland, ESPN2
September 19, 12:00 p.m.: Europe vs. Czech Republic, ESPN2
September 19, 5:00 p.m.: Russia vs. North America, ESPN2
September 20, 12:00 p.m.: Finland vs. Sweden, ESPN
September 20, 5:00 p.m.: Canada vs. USA, ESPN
September 21, 12:00 p.m.: North America vs. Sweden, ESPN
September 21, 5:00 p.m.: Europe vs Canada, ESPN2
September 22, 12:00 p.m.: Finland vs. Russia, ESPN
September 22, 5:00 p.m.: USA vs. Czech Republic, ESPN2

September 24, 4:00 p.m. Semifinal one, ESPN2
September 25, 10:00 a.m. Semifinal two, ESPN

September 27, 5:00 p.m., Game one, ESPN
September 29, 5:00 p.m., Game two, ESPN2
October 1, 4:00 p.m., Game three (if necessary), ESPN2

Again, all times are PT. Group A is comprised of Canada, the Czech Republic, Europe and the United States, while Group B is comprised of Finland, North America, Russia and Sweden.

Rules for Blog Commenting
  • - No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • - Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other commenters, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • - Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • - Please do not discuss, or post links to, websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • - Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.
Adrian Kempe

#9 | 6′ 2″ | 195 lb | Age: 21

Born: September 13, 1996
Birthplace: Kramfors, SWE
Position: LW
Handedness: Left


Kempe was selected by the Kings in the first round (29th overall) in the 2014 NHL Draft.

Alex Iafallo

#19 | 6′ | 185 lb | Age: 23

Born: December 21, 1993
Birthplace: Eden, NY, USA
Position: C
Handedness: Left


Iafallo was signed by the Kings as an unrestricted free agent on April 18, 2017.

Anze Kopitar

#11 | 6′ 3″ | 224 lb | Age: 29

Born: August 24, 1987
Birthplace: Jesenice, SVN
Position: C
Handedness: Left


As the 11th overall pick in the 2005 NHL Entry Draft, Kopitar became the first Slovenian to play in the NHL. Kopitar has spent his entire NHL career with the Kings, and following the 2015–16 season, was named the Kings’ captain. Noted for both his offensive and defensive play, Kopitar was awarded the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the best defensive forward in the NHL in 2016.

Drew Doughty

#8 | 6′ 1″ | 195 lb | Age: 26

Born: December 8, 1989
Birthplace: London, ON, CAN
Position: D
Handedness: Right


Bio: Doughty is a Canadian defenceman who was selected second overall by the Kings in the 2008 Draft. Doughty made his NHL debut in 2008 as an 18-year-old and was named to the All-Rookie Team. He is a two-time Stanley Cup champion with the Kings, a two-time Olympic gold medallist with the Canadian national team, and a Norris Trophy finalist.

Jeff Carter

#77 | 6′ 4″ | 215 lb | Age: 31

Born: January 1, 1985
Birthplace: London, ON, CAN
Position: C
Handedness: Right


Carter began his hockey career playing in the Ontario Hockey League in Canada before joining the AHL and playing for the Philadelphia Flyers. He was then traded to the Colombus Blue jackets before joining the LA Kings in 2012, where he has since won two Stanley Cups with the Kings.

Jonathan Quick

#32 | 6′ 1″ | 218 lb | Age: 30

Born: January 21, 1986
Birthplace: Milford, CT, USA
Position: G
Handedness: Left


Bio: Quick is the current goaltender for the LA Kings and was selected by Los Angeles at the 2005 NHL Entry Draft. Previously, Quick was a silver medalist with USA at the 2010 Winter Olympics. He’s won two Stanley Cup championships with the Kings, along with being the most recent goaltender to be awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the 2012 Stanley Cup playoffs.