Numbers for the new guys

Via the Kings’ public relations Twitter account, numbers have been assigned to new members of the club:

Jack Campbell – 1
Zach Trotman – 5
Teddy Purcell – 9
Tom Gilbert – 14
Michael Latta – 17
Jeff Zatkoff – 37

Keep in mind that these will be numbers worn by the players until they aren’t; Christian Ehrhoff was announced as 44 late last summer before he switched to 10 for the start of the season. Tom Gilbert had worn 77 throughout the entirety of his 637-game NHL career, but 77 is already taken, so he did a little bit of math and ended up with 14. In previous stints with the club early in their NHL careers, Purcell was assigned 54 and Zatkoff wore 36 (though the latter never entered into a regular season game with the club).

Previously to have worn 1:
Jhonas Enroth; Sean Burke; Milan Hnilicka; Jamie Storr; Rick Knickle; Steve Weeks; Ron Scott; Bob Janecyk; Mario Lessard; Gary Simmons; Gary Edwards; Jack Norris; Wayne Rutledge; Jacques Caron; Wayne Rutledge

Previously to have worn 5:
Jamie McBain; Keaton Ellerby; Peter Harrold; Brent Sopel; Tomas Zizka; Aki Berg; Tim Watters; Denis Larocque; Mark Hardy; Brian Engblom; Larry Murphy; Jerry Korab; Richard Mulhern; Bob Murdoch; Harry Howell; Noel Price; Brent Hughes; Larry Johnston; Dave Amadio

Previously to have worn 9:
Oscar Moller; Konstantin Pushkarev; Erik Rasmussen; Kelly Buchberger; Vladimir Tsyplakov; Rob Brown; Dixon Ward; Sean Whyte; Ilkka Sinisalo; Bernie Nicholls; Alan Hangsleben; Scott Gruhl; Billy Harris; Mike Marson; Murray Wilson; Ernie Hicke; Bob Nevin; Ralph Backstrom; Gord Labossiere; Bill Flett; Real Lemieux

Previously to have worn 14:
Justin Williams; Mattias Norstrom; Gary Shuchuk; Kyosti Karjalainen; Gordie; Tony Granato; Jim Hofford; Bob Bourne; Len Hachborn; Bob Miller; Billy Harris; Kevin Lavallee; Blair Barnes; Phil Sykes; Brian Maclellan; Scott Gruhl; Al Sims; Pierre Giroux; Dave Gans; Phil Sykes; Greg Terrion; Syl Apps; Dave Schultz; Frank St. Marseille; Phil Hoene; Lucien Grenier; Larry Cahan

Previously to have worn 17:
Milan Lucic; Daniel Carcillo; Wayne Simmonds; Lubomir Visnovsky; Tomas Vlasak; Nelson Emerson; Bob Corkum; Matt Johnson; Jari Kurri; Jim Thomson; Brian Wilks; Bob Logan; Jimmy Carson; John Paul Kelly; Tommy Williams; Dan Maloney; Bill Flett; Mike Corrigan; Bill Flett

Previously to have worn 37:
Jean-Sebastien Aubin; Gabe Gauthier; Mark Parrish; Denis Grebeshkov; Kip Brennan; Jason Podollan; Paul DiPietro; Patrice Tardif; Dan Currie; Bob Kudelski

Rules for Blog Commenting

  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other comments, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.

Repeated violations of the blog rules will result in site bans, commensurate with the nature and number of offenses.

Please flag any comments that violate the site rules for moderation. For immediate problems regarding problematic posts, please email