NHL Awards about to kick off - LA Kings Insider

Good afternoon from the media workroom tucked away deep in the underbelly of the Encore at Wynn Las Vegas!

You’re already well aware of this, but the NBCSN-televised NHL Awards begin at 4:00 p.m. today, with the NHL Network’s coverage of the Red Carpet arrivals beginning at 2:00 p.m. Several Kings are not only up for awards but will also be a part of the ceremony, as Luc Robitaille, Dean Lombardi, Dustin Brown and Anze Kopitar will be honored for their Stanley Cup victory late in this evening’s proceedings.

A reminder: Kopitar is up for the Selke Trophy, Brown is up for the Messier Leadership Award, and Lombardi is up for the General Manager of the Year. The Hart Trophy, which will be the final trophy presentation of the evening, will be awarded to Sidney Crosby, Ryan Getzlaf or Claude Giroux.

The scheduled order of award presentations is as follows, and is subject to change:

Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)
Presenters: Ted Lindsay and Eric Stonestreet
Finalists: Sidney Crosby, Ryan Getzlaf and Claude Giroux

Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game)
Presenters: Michael Peca and David Walton
Finalists: Patrice Bergeron, Anze Kopitar and Jonathan Toews

Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Presenters: Rich Peverley and George Stroumboulopoulos
Finalists: Jaromir Jagr, Manny Malhotra and Dominic Moore

Calder Trophy (top rookie)
Presenters: Retta and Luc Robitaille
Finalists: Tyler Johnson, Nathan McKinnon, Ondrej Palat

Art Ross Trophy (scoring champion)
Presenter: George Stroumboulopoulos
Winner: Sidney Crosby

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (goal-scoring leader)
Presenter: George Stroumboulopoulos
Winner: Alex Ovechkin

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (for leadership on and off the ice and noteworthy humanitarian contribution to community)
Presenters: Adam Graves and Cuba Gooding Jr.
Winner: Andrew Ference

NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)
Presenters: Adam Graves and Cuba Gooding Jr.
Finalists: Patrice Bergeron, Brent Burns and Duncan Keith

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone
Presenters: Cuba Gooding Jr., Mark Messier and George Stroumboulopoulos
Finalists: Dustin Brown, Ryan Getzlaf and Jonathan Toews

EA NHL 15 Cover Vote Winner
Presenters: Mike “Doc” Emrick and Eddie Olczyk with a special appearance by the hip-hop dance crew Jabbawockeez
Finalists: Patrice Bergeron and P.K. Subban

Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
Presenters: Chris Pronger and David Boreanaz
Finalists: Zdeno Chara, Duncan Keith and Shea Weber

Jack Adams Award (top head coach)
Presenters: Danny DeKeyser, Tyler Johnson and Semyon Varlamov
Finalists: Mike Babcock, Jon Cooper and Patrick Roy

Special recognition of the 2014 Stanley Cup Champion Los Angeles Kings featuring Luc Robitaille, Dean Lombardi, Dustin Brown and Anze Kopitar
Introduction: Pia Toscano
Performer: Matisyahu

William M. Jennings Trophy (goaltender who plays at least 25 games for the club allowing the fewest goals)
Presenter: George Stroumboulopoulos
Winner: Jonathan Quick

Lady Byng Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)
Presenter: Michael Vartan
Finalists: Patrick Marleau, Ryan O’Reilly and Martin St. Louis

General Manager of the Year
Presenters: PK Subban, Dustin Brown and Ryan Getzlaf
Finalists: Marc Bergevin, Dean Lombardi and Bob Murray

Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Presenter: Colin Hanks
Finalists: Ben Bishop, Tuukka Rask and Semyon Varlamov

Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)
Presenter: Mark Messier
Finalists: Sidney Crosby, Ryan Getzlaf and Claude Giroux