Quick second in Vezina vote

Henrik Lundqvist won the Vezina Trophy, and Jonathan Quick finished second in voting. [Quick was also named to the NHL All-Star second team.] Also, Shane Doan won the Mark Messier Leadership Award, for which Dustin Brown had been a finalist. Here’s the list of winners for the major trophies. Of the seven, only one went more than a stone’s throw west of the Mississippi River. Shocking! (not really at all.)

HART (MVP) — Evgeni Malkin (Penguins).
NORRIS (defenseman) — Erik Karlsson (Senators).
CALDER (rookie) — Gabriel Landeskog (Avalanche).
SELKE (defensive forward) — Patrice Bergeron (Bruins).
LADY BYNG (sportsmanship) — Brian Campbell (Panthers).
JACK ADAMS (coach) — Ken Hitchcock (Blues).
MASTERTON (dedication) — Max Pacioretty (Canadiens).

Click below for the “red carpet’’ interviews with Brown and Quick, as seen on NHL Network…

Rules for Blog Commenting

  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other comments, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.

Please flag any comments that violate the site rules for moderation. For immediate problems regarding problematic posts, please email zdooley@lakings.com.