Kopitar talks about shorthanded goal

If you’ve watched any hockey highlights on TV over the last 15 hours or so, you’ve probably seen Anze Kopitar’s shorthanded goal from last night a few times. Here is is, in case you haven’t seen it (or want to watch it a few more times), followed by Kopitar’s thoughts on the goal. Did he know he was going to make a move like that, before Dustin Brown’s pass arrived.

KOPITAR: “Actually, as soon as Brownie got the puck, I had a couple thoughts going through my mind. I thought it was going to one-time it first, because it was a good pass, or in the right spot. I just decided to not shoot, and it worked out pretty well.’’

Kopitar’s goal was the Kings’ fourth shorthanded goal of the playoffs. He was asked today if the team is doing anything different on the penalty kill, to force those chances.

KOPITAR: “Not anything different. We’ve been aggressive all season. Right now, obviously, it’s been paying off real well. We’ve got to continue doing that, and just go from there.’’

Rules for Blog Commenting

  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other comments, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.