Smyth's extra penalty

I didn’t think it could get much weirder than the Blues’ wrong-lineup penalty. Then it did. Last night, the Kings scored a 4-on-4, first-period goal with Ryan Smyth in the penalty box for interference. As the Kings were celebrating, Smyth got an unsportsmanlike-conduct penalty…from the box. How did it happen?

SMYTH: “He [the official] told me not to bang on the glass, because I was banging on it. I didn’t think mine was a call and I thought (a non-call) on Richie was a call. Through the glass, he said, `Don’t bang on the glass.’ And I just said, `Wake up.’ And that was it. That’s what I got. Can you believe that?”

Not particularly, no. I asked Smyth if he had ever received a penalty in a similar situation.

SMYTH: “Probably. Maybe not like that, though. Maybe a 10-minute misconduct. I can’t remember though.”

Rules for Blog Commenting

  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other comments, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.