The overtime non-goal

Here’s what I can piece together on the goalie-interference call on the overtime non-goal , with some major help from Jim Fox.

The setup is, Andrej Meszaros took the shot, which was deflected off Sean O’Donnell and into the net.

The interference call can be made due to incidental contact, which is what the officials ruled that Tampa Bay’s Paul Szczechura made with Jonathan Quick as the puck went into the net. What the officials had to determine was whether Szczechura was pushed into Quick by O’Donnell, and ultimately they decided that there was no distinct cross-check and/or push by O’Donnell.

There was no video review of the play, and there can’t be. Jim said he believes that only the other referee, not a linesman, could go to his fellow ref and say that he saw contact on the play. It wasn’t a minor penalty on the Lightning because it was incidental contact. Thanks again to Jim for helping me figure that all out.

Rules for Blog Commenting

  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other comments, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.