NHL Awards and Golden Knights reveal live thread - LA Kings Insider

7:25 p.m. Aaaaaand, here’s the Hart Trophy presentation. Congratulations, Connor McDavid, for winning the first of many.

I’ll have a few McNabb quotes up in a little bit. Enjoy your Wednesday night, Insiders. There’s a ton of NHL Draft coverage coming from Chicago, and we’re expecting to chat with Rob Blake tomorrow to kick things off. Let’s talk soon.

7:11 p.m. Filling out the Golden Knights’ roster are Clayton Stoner (ANA), Erik Haula (MIN), William Karlsson (CBJ), Trevor van Riemsdyk (CHI), Marc-Andre Fleury (PIT), Nate Schmidt (WSH).

Vegas will also receive Shea Theodore from Anaheim. That’s a nice pick-up if the Golden Knights decides to keep him. He may also be an interesting trade chip. Anaheim incentivized the Vegas to select Stoner by offering Theodore, whose loss will be cushioned by the emergence of skilled puckmover Brandon Montour. As for the selections from Minnesota and Columbus, there are a few addendums.

The Penguins will also send a 2020 second round draft pick – 2020! – to Vegas so they would select Fleury.

7:07 p.m. Sergei Bobrovsky wins the Vezina. Torts kind of let the cat out of the bag here.

Nice speech by Bob. That’s not easy standing in front of a packed arena and conveying warmth and emotion in a foreign language.

6:52 p.m. Johnny Gaudreau is your Lady Byng winner. His former teammate Jiri Hudler won the award two years ago. Anze Kopitar won it last year but did not finish in the top 20 this year. The voting:

6:36 p.m. More Golden Knights! Brendan Leipsic (TOR), Colin Miller (BOS), Marc Methot (OTT), David Schlemko (SJS), David Perron (STL), Oscar Lindberg (NYR), Griffin Reinhart (EDM), Alexei Emelin (MTL)…

6:35 p.m. Here’s a better shot of McNabb in a Golden Knights jersey, courtesy Jeff Vinnick/NHLI.

Jeff Vinnick/NHLI

6:33 p.m. Craig Anderson wins the Masterton Trophy. Stick taps to Craig and Nicole. No jokes here.

6:31 p.m. For those who place stock in these things, Connor McDavid will grace the cover of NHL 18. Don’t expect a cover jinx.

6:23 p.m. John Tortorella wins the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s coach of the year. He was the last coach to guide his team to a Stanley Cup the year he won the Jack Adams. (See: Tampa Bay Lightning, 2003-04)

6:22 p.m. Forgot to mention this earlier, but Drew Doughty finished seventh in Norris Trophy voting:

Anze Kopitar also finished 15th in Selke Trophy voting:

6:18 p.m. David Poile is your General Manager of the Year. No qualms here.

6:16 p.m. David Harbour’s performance may have been the best part of Stranger Things, and that’s saying something.

6:05 p.m. More Golden Knights! Connor Brickley (CAR), Chris Thorburn (WPG), Pierre-Edouard Bellemare (PHI), Jason Garrison (TBL), J-F Berube (NYI), James Neal (NSH) and Deryk Engelland (CGY).

The fine print:

From #NYIslanders to #Vegas: Mikhail Grabovski, 2017 1st round pick (15th overall), 2019 2rd round pick, Jake Bischoff.

6:00 p.m. The Calder Trophy goes to Austin Matthews. Great crop this year, but there’s no real surprise.

5:52 p.m.

5:30 p.m. The first eight Vegas Golden Knights: Calvin Pickard COL), Luca Sbisa (VAN), Teemu Pulkkinen (ARI), Jon Merrill (NJD), William Carrier (BUF), Cody Eakin (DAL), Tomas Nosek (DET), Jonathan Marchessault (FLA) and Brayden McNabb (LAK).

Buffalo also sent a sixth round pick to Vegas so that the Golden Knights to select Carrier. Florida also sent Reilly Smith and a 2018 fourth round pick so that the Golden Knights would select Marchessault. That’s rough. Florida apparently needed to rid themselves of Smith’s contract.

As expected, McNabb is selected from the Kings, and no side deal was listed. It sounded like there were a few extra boos when the Kings were announced. Expecting a fun rivalry there, but as well all know, rivalries don’t really take off until teams meet in the playoffs. Given the divisional playoff format, that could happen more quickly than the construction of a typical expansion rivalry.

5:28 p.m. Brent Burns wins the Norris Trophy. Is he the NHL defenseman whose shot leads to the greatest percentage of scoring chances? It certainly seems that way. Here were the odds, as provided by Bovada:

Odds to win 2017 Norris Trophy
Brent Burns, SJS 1/5
Erik Karlsson, OTT 5/2
Victor Hedman, TBL 25/1

5:24 p.m. Patrice Bergeron wins the Selke Trophy. He finished a pretty close second to Kopitar last year:

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Anze Kopitar, LAK 1145 (77-36-20-7-2)
2. Patrice Bergeron, BOS 996 (46-52-27-11-4)
3. Ryan Kesler, ANA 424 (9-20-24-17-23)

5:10 p.m. The Ted Lindsay Award, as voted on by the NHLPA, is presented Connor McDavid. Have always appreciated how well Sidney Crosby has engaged with the media and presented himself publicly as he’s been the most high-profile player in the league. All signs show that McDavid has that same poise.

5:05 p.m. Someone explain to me who Joe Manganiello is. This is probably on me; my understanding of trivial contemporary culture is poor.

5:00 p.m. I don’t know who this is.

Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Fortunately, David Harbour is presenting! LET’S LIVE BLOG, INSIDERS.