LA Kings LA Kings Insider Presented By Solar City Ontario Reign
July 15, 2014 11:39 am

Kings up for three ESPYS

The Kings are up for three ESPY awards! As you were.

The ESPYS, a large scale celebration of athlete and sports culture that honor individual and team achievements, will have a silver-and-black feel on Wednesday night.

Anze Kopitar is up for Best NHL Player (along with Sidney Crosby, Ryan Getzlaf, Jonathan Toews and Henrik Lundqvist), Kings-Rangers Game 5 has been nominated for Game of the Year (along with Auburn-Alabama in college football and the Colts-Chiefs wild card game), and the Kings are up for Best Team (along with the Boston Red Sox, San Antonio Spurs, Seattle Seahawks, UConn Women’s Basketball and Florida State Football).

Click here to vote on these awards.

The only hockey game to ever win Best Game was the United States-Canada gold medal game from 2010, while the last NHL team to be named the year’s Best Team at the ESPYS was the 1994 New York Rangers. In 2012, Jonathan Quick was named Best NHL Player, and the Kings won the award for Best Upset.

Stuart Scott, who has battled appendiceal cancer since being diagnosed in 2007, will be honored with the Jimmy V Perseverance Award.

Rules for Blog Commenting
  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other commenters, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to, websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.