LA Kings LA Kings Insider Presented By Solar City Ontario Reign
June 22, 2014 11:58 am

Robitaille, HHOF selection committee meeting Monday

Luc Robitaille, who was named to the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee in March, is a part of the group whose discussions and voting will form this year’s inductees. The 2014 Hall of Fame class will be learned on Monday and officially announced on Tuesday.

Robitaille is one of 18 members who will judge the merits of a collection of players that includes first time Hall of Fame-eligible players including Dominik Hasek, Peter Forsberg and Mike Modano, all of whom are seen as favorites to earn induction. Players are required to generate 14 votes for induction, with a maximum of four players inducted per year.

The inductions will take place on November 10 in Toronto. USA Today reporter Kevin Allen, the recipient of the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award, and Chicago Blackhawks play by play announcer Pat Foley, the recipient of the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award, will be a part of the class.

Inductees may also be selected in the Builder and Referee/Linesman categories. To become eligible for induction as a Player or Referee/Linesman, their playing or officiating careers must have ended for a minimum of three playing seasons. Those eligible for induction in 2014 must have retired prior to the 2010-11 season.

Click here for a list of eligible players and their statistics.

Rules for Blog Commenting
  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other commenters, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to, websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.