LA Kings LA Kings Insider Presented By Solar City Ontario Reign
April 13, 2014 5:38 pm

First round playoff schedule set

The Los Angeles Kings, the Pacific Division’s third seed, will open their 2014 Stanley Cup campaign with playoff games at the SAP Center, home of the San Jose Sharks, the Pacific Division’s second seed, at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 17, and at 7:00 p.m. on Sunday, April 20.

The series will shift back to Staples Center in Los Angeles for Game 3, at 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 22, and 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 24.

If necessary, Game 5 would take place on Saturday, April 26 at the SAP Center, Game 6 would take place on Monday, April 28 at Staples Center, and Game 7 would take place on Wednesday, April 30 at the SAP Center. The times for these potential games would be announced at a later date.

Game 1, Los Angeles at San Jose: Thursday, April 17, 7:30 p.m.
Game 2, Los Angeles at San Jose: Sunday, April 20, 7:00 p.m.
Game 3, San Jose at Los Angeles: Tuesday, April 22, 7:00 p.m.
Game 4, San Jose at Los Angeles: Thursday, April 24, 7:00 p.m.
Game 5, Los Angeles at San Jose: Saturday, April 26, TBD*
Game 6, San Jose at Los Angeles: Monday, April 28, TBD*
Game 7, Los Angeles at San Jose: Wednesday, April 30, TBD*
*if necessary. All times PT.

This is the third time in four seasons that these teams have met in the Stanley Cup Playoffs. In 2011, San Jose defeated Los Angeles in six games in a first round series. In 2013, the Kings defeated the Sharks in seven games in a second round series and clinched a berth in the Western Conference Final with a 2-1 victory at Staples Center on May 29, 2013. Los Angeles was 3-1-1 against San Jose in 2013-14.

All games will be broadcast on NBC Sports Network and CBC. The club’s local FOX Sports West broadcast schedule, anchored by Bob Miller and Jim Fox, will be announced when it is confirmed.

On the radio, the Kings’ flagship station KEIB AM 1150 The Patriot will broadcast all playoff games. The games can also be heard live on the Internet at

The full list of first round playoff games can be accessed here.

There will be at least one NBC telecast – not counting games broadcast on NBCSN or CNBC – in the St. Louis-Chicago series, New York-Philadelphia series and Boston-Detroit series. As of now, a total of six games have been announced to be carried on NBC, though three come with *if necessary asterisks. Future broadcast information in all series will be announced at a later date.

Rules for Blog Commenting
  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other commenters, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to, websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.