LA Kings LA Kings Insider Presented By Solar City Ontario Reign
June 14, 2013 4:10 pm

Alfredsson wins Messier Award

The National Hockey League announced the first round of winners of the league’s awards on Friday afternoon. For the second consecutive year, Dustin Brown finished as a runner up in the Mark Messier Leadership Award as veteran Ottawa Senators captain Daniel Alfredsson was presented the award one year after it was named to Shane Doan.

Though suggestions for nominees are solicited from fans, clubs and NHL personnel, the selection of the three finalists and the ultimate winner is made by Messier himself. Jonathan Toews, who was awarded the Selke Trophy, was also a finalist for the Messier Award.

The winners of the Hart Memorial Trophy (league MVP), Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie), James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman), Vezina Trophy (top goaltender) and Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted on by the NHLPA) will be announced in a ceremony broadcast on NBCSN in the United States at 4:00 p.m. PT on Saturday prior to Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final.

Friday’s winners:

GM of the Year Award – Ray Shero, Pittsburgh

Jack Adams Award – Paul MacLean, Ottawa
-the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success

Frank J. Selke Award – Jonathan Toews, Chicago
-the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy – Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay
-the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy – Josh Harding, Minnesota
-the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey

King Clancy Memorial Trophy – Patrice Bergeron, Boston
-the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his communit

Mark Messier Leadership Award – Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa
-the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season

NHL Foundation Player Award – Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit
-the player “who applies the core values of hockey—commitment, perseverance and teamwork—to enrich the lives of people in his community Toews, MacLean win on first day of NHL awards
LAKI: Brown nominated for Messier Award

Rules for Blog Commenting
  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other commenters, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to, websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.