January 5, 2012 11:16 pm

Tippett disputes game-winning goal

Not surprisingly, Phoenix coach Dave Tippett was none too pleased with Drew Doughty’s game-winning goal, which held up after a video review. Doughty was given credit for the goal after several players crashed the net front and the puck snuck past goalie Mike Smith as the net was slightly lifted in the scrum. Here’s what Tippett told reporters…

TIPPETT: “It should be no goal. It’s not a matter of (the) fact that the puck went in the net. The puck did go in the net, but it should be goalie interference. If they don’t give the goal to (Jack) Johnson then it’s goalie interference. If he comes in and puts his leg in front of Mike Smith’s leg so (Smith) can’t make a stop, that is goalie interference. It’s as simple as that. It’s a poor call. It’s a blown call that should be no goal.”

Rules for Blog Commenting
  • No profanity, slurs or other offensive language. Replacing letters with symbols does not turn expletives into non-expletives.
  • Personal attacks against other blog commenters, and/or blatant attempts to antagonize other commenters, are not tolerated. Respectful disagreement is encouraged. Posts that continually express the same singular opinion will be deleted.
  • Comments that incite political, religious or similar debates will be deleted.
  • Please do not discuss, or post links to, websites that illegally stream NHL games.
  • Posting under multiple user names is not allowed. Do not type in all caps. All violations are subject to comment deletion and/or banning of commenters, per the discretion of the blog administrator.