Bordson era ends - LA Kings Insider

Remember the name Rob Bordson in a couple years, when he’s the answer to a Nick Nickson trivia question on Kings Talk… As expected — and noted in this post from Thursday — the Kings did not tender a qualifying offer to Bordson, who was acquired from Philadelphia in the Mike Richards trade. You’re all invited to post your best memories of Rob Bordson’s career with the Kings.

No other surprises on the qualifying-offer front. All of the Kings’ impending restricted free agents — Andrew Campbell, Marc-Andre Cliche, Rich Clune, Drew Doughty, Corey Elkins, Johan Fransson, Bud Holloway, Trevor Lewis, Alec Martinez, David Meckler, Oscar Moller, Patrick Mullen, Brad Richardson and Jeff Zatkoff — got offers, which, in most cases, only serves to ensure that the Kings will retain those players’ rights (even in the case of Moller, who will play in Sweden). If the team doesn’t tender a qualifying offer, the player becomes an unrestricted free agent. Players can accept the qualifying offers, but given that they only come with a minor salary raise, most continue to negotiate new contracts.

The only other notable aspect is that Lewis, Martinez and Richardson are eligible for arbitration this summer.